BCI recognizes its secondary athletes

Article content

They excelled wearing Red Ram colours.


Story continues below

Article content

Brockville Collegiate Institute (BCI) has announced its 2019-2020 athletic award recipients.

Like other high schools, BCI could not hold its annual secondary awards event because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Instead, a tribute video (“BCI Athletic Awards 2020”) was posted on YouTube and through the school’s Facebook page this week.

With the spring season being cancelled for soccer, track and field, tennis, badminton and other sports because of the pandemic, BCI opted not to name junior and senior female and male athletes of the year for 2019-2020.

“We didn’t feel that it was fair for some athletes who are strong in the spring sports,” said athletic coordinator Jessica Dixie.

Here are the BCI athletic awards for 2019-2020:

Varsity Golf

MIP – Matthew McKinnon, Morgan Hutton;


Senior Girls: MVP – Emma Babbitt, Kayla Wright; Coach Award – Blythe Huang;

Junior Girls: MVP – Brianna Wright; MIP – Alex Lindsay;

Senior Boys: MVP (Returning) – Nick Kleinlagel; MVP (Rookie) – Noah Smith;

Junior Boys: MVP – Evan Condignly; Coach Award – Ryan Robinson


Senior Girls: MVP – Abby Murdock, Taylor Watson, Emma Babbitt;

Junior Girls: MVP – Olivia Allen; MIP – Morgan Hutton;

Senior Boys: MVP – Dylan Lutz, Noah Smith; Coach Award – Shuja Sayyid;

Junior Boys: MVP – Monis Sayyid, Joe Barkley, Jack Sloan;


MVP – Nick Dardano;

Varsity Boys Football

MVP – Robbie MacAdam, Chase De Vries;


Leadership Award – Taylor Blasko; Spirit Award – Jacki Oliver; Most Dedicated – Ashton Perrin.

Latest National Stories


Story continues below

News Near Brockville

This Week in Flyers