Rideau holds off on naming athletes of the year

Article content

They’re hoping to recognize the Lions’ pride in person in the fall.


Story continues below

Article content

Rideau District High School posted its list of 2019-2020 athletic awards on Facebook recently.

The school in Elgin has opted to wait until the fall to announce its male and female athletes of 2019-2020.

High schools have remained closed since March and were unable to hold award banquets and ceremonies because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Rideau is planning to recognize all award recipients later this year.

“We will do our best to honour our athletes in an in-person awards assembly as soon as it is safe to do so,” the message stated.

The spring sports season was cancelled because of the pandemic.

The recipients of Rideau’s 2019-2020 athletic awards include:


Senior Girls: MVP – Paige McCourt; MIP – Sarah Brown;

Senior Boys: MVP – Lucas Burns, Kyle Ewart, Hayden Burns, Blain Wells;

Junior Boys: MVP – Liam Simpson, Evan Rice;


Senior Girls: MVP – Sarah Brown; MIP – Autumn Ferguson;

Junior Girls: MVP – Paige McCourt; MIP – Emma Bracken;

Senior Boys: MVP – Kyle Ewart; MIP – Curran Westwater;

Junior Boys: MVP – Liam Simpson; MIP – David French;


MVP – Brett Wells (defence), Dylan MacNay (offence); MIP (Bill Thake award) – Tristan Scheuermann;


MVP – Claire Seed; MIP – Leah Allen;


MVP – Olivia Smith; MIP – Harrison Pringle;

Varsity Girls Hockey

MVP – Lindsay Truelove, Fiona McCreary; MIP – Helen Whalen.

Latest National Stories


Story continues below

News Near Brockville

This Week in Flyers